Make your own free website on

Article 9



r2k1.jpg (3339 bytes)

Manila Bulletin, November 27, 1999

'R2K,' Regine's New Album
by Crispina Martinez-Belen

No, we're not talking about the Y2K bug. You heard it right, it's 'R2K' -
Regine Velasquez's new album. But Regine doesn't need to ride on anything,
and especially not with this new album which is the very first of its kind
in the industry. 'R2K' is the first album by a local artist to come up
with the following: 17 all-revival cuts, all in one album, a free 48-page
magazine with articles and a fashion pictorial of Regine, and a VCD with
six MTVs including 'For the Love of You,' an R&B hit originally done by
Whitney Houston. The song is given a new, jazzed-up treatment with a rap
written and performed by KC Montero and Gabby Eigenmann, Regine's co-stars
on "SOP" who also appear in the video.

If you're not "R2K" compliant yet, you'd better be because this is one
album you don't want to miss. The 17 songs on its album include five chosen
by Regine's fans and friends. They were mailed in response to a survey on
"SOP" early this year.

The songs in "R2K" include "One Love" (Carpenters), the carrier single "On
the Wings of Love" (Jeffrey Osbourne), "Lost Without Your Love" (David
Gates of Bread), "For the Love of You" (Whitney Houston), "In Your Eyes"
(George Benson), "Holiday" (Scorpions), "Music and Me" (Michael Jackson),
"Music of Goodbye" (John Barry), "Hello Again" (Neil Diamond), "The Long
and Winding Road" (The Beatles), "I'll Never Love this Way Again" (Dionne
Warwick), "McArthur's Park" (Donna Summer), "I Don't Wanna Miss a Thing"
(Aerosmith), "If Ever You're in my Arms Again" (Peabo Bryson), a "Love
Songs Medley" ("I'll Always Love You," "Longer," and "More Than You'll Ever
Know"), "Dancing Queen" (ABBA), "Fallin" (Teri de Sario), and "Hello Again"
(Neil Diamond).

Regine is also backed up by a powerhouse cast of musicians on this album.
These include well-known musical directors (some of whom have worked with
Regine in her concerts and on previous albums). They are Cesar Aguas, Marc
Lopez, Marvin Qurido, Ric Mercado, Mon Faustino, Lorrie Ilustre, Raul
Mitra, Mel Villena, Homer Flores, and Jimmy Antiporda.

The album, which will be available in all record bars and outlets
is a pre-millennium treat for all music lovers, as well
as for all of Regine's fans and friends who now have an album that contains
their favorite revival hits. At least this is one album that they can
really call their own.

(Amen to that.)

falltree.gif (11580 bytes)



Main Article Area

Back to Main
Archives Area

back to Regine's


-Regine Articles Section-